Grace Cathedral is the daughter of historic Grace Chapel. The first little chapel was built in the gold rush year of 1849, and the imposing third church, for a time called Grace Cathedral, was destroyed in the fire following the 1906 earthquake. The railroad baron/banker Crocker family gave their ruined Nob Hill property for a diocesan cathedral, which took its name and founding congregation from the nearby parish.
Dean J. Wilmer Gresham nurtured the young Grace Cathedral, and work began on the present structure in 1928. Designed in French Gothic style by Lewis Hobart, it was completed in 1964. The Cathedral also boasts a considerable collection of work by artist Jan Henryk De Rosen, including a faux-tile Mural behind the Chapel of Grace.
Popular Guest Performing Artists have included the US Naval Academy Men's Glee Club, Chanticleer, and the Vienna Boys Choir, along with jazz legends Pharoah Sanders and Joshua Redman.
Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center was designated a San Francisco Historic Landmark on August 5th, 1984.